All These Bodies

An Indie Next List Pick!

 

Sixteen bloodless bodies.  Two teenagers.  One impossible explanation.

Summer 1958—a string of murders plagues the Midwest. The victims are found in their cars and in their homes—even in their beds—their bodies drained, but with no blood anywhere.

September 19- the Carlson family is slaughtered in their Minnesota farmhouse, and the case gets its first lead: 15-year-old Marie Catherine Hale is found at the scene. She is covered in blood from head to toe, and at first she’s mistaken for a survivor. But not a drop of the blood is hers.

Michael Jensen, son of the local sheriff, yearns to become a journalist and escape his small-town. He never imagined that the biggest story in the country would fall into his lap, or that he would be pulled into the investigation, when Marie decides that he is the only one she will confess to.

As Marie recounts her version of the story, it falls to Michael to find the truth: What really happened the night that the Carlsons were killed? And how did one girl wind up in the middle of all these bodies?

Praise

“Paradoxically, even as the book scrutinizes the darker human appetite for serial killers, criminal escapades, and vengeance, it caters to these same urges.

An insightful look at our morbid curiosity about murderers.”

Kirkus Reviews

“Through an assured voice and a vividly wrought small-town atmosphere, Blake swiftly draws readers into this tense historical thriller inspired by a real-life murder spree.

[A] well crafted mystery for fans of In Cold Blood and None Shall Sleep.”

Publishers Weekly

“Reads like true crime. A chilling descent into the human psyche.”

—Booklist

“a chilling psychological thriller that effectively pulls from true crimes, folklore, and urban legends.”

—BCCB